The Bishop of Hereford and the Dean of Hereford are delighted to announce that the following have been made members of the Order of St Ethelbert:

Mr Peter Barber OBE

Drs Andy & Jill Butterfill

Mrs Janet Dovey

Mr Robert Downes

Mrs Kathleen Harris

Miss Beryl Haughton

Mrs Ann Jones

Mrs Christine Jones

The Chancellor of the Diocese of Hereford, The Worshipful Roger Kaye QC

Mrs Peggy Luker

Mr Andrew Netting

Mr Jeff Paget

Mrs Barbara Payne

Mr Michael Pickering

Mr Roger Skelhorn

Mrs Rosemary Smith

Mr Gordon Taylor MBE

Mrs Sheila Waddington-Feather


The Order was instituted in 2015 as a means of recognising devoted and loyal service to the diocese and cathedral through their parish churches and community.

This year’s list reflects a wide range of recipients, all of whom have worked tirelessly in their own areas of Christian ministry.

Presentations to the Order will be made on Sunday 14 October at 3.30 pm during Choral Evensong.

Each recipient will receive a certificate and badge of the order, together with a new book on the Life of St Ethelbert, Hereford’s patron saint, written by the Dean.

Image above shows Members of the Order of St Ethelbert 2015